Product Review: innisfree Green Tea Seed eye cream

PSA: You might want to put down that coffee cup you’re holding, cause this review is about to get serious.

w2beauty haul innisfree Green Tea Seed Eye Cream

w2beauty haul innisfree Green Tea Seed Eye Cream

You know how everyone complains of bags under their eyes and dark circles?  I’m not one of those people.  Instead, I have a real problem of a very large and noticeable wrinkle on my upper eyelid.  It becomes incredibly pronounced if I’m tired, or if my eyes have been awake for more than one hour.   Llike it basically is its own eyelid fold at this point (no, I’m sorry to disappoint any Asian people out there, but this does not make my eyes beautiful and open- it means they look tired and make my face darker 😦 ).  I have it on my left eye because I raise my eyebrow a lot.  Apparently Angelina Jolie also has this problem.  But you know, she’s got tons of money and the status of my beloved and world’s hottest woman of all time- so who cares about her eyelid wrinkle?  Noone.

But alas, I am not Angelina Jolie and this one eyelid wrinkle-turned-fold plagues me. At first it developed slowly.  Like only on nights and mornings where a mixture of serious alcohol consumption and some other consumables passed through my body and still, I had to go to work at 7am.

Fast forward a few years later to today and most mornings this fold is more-other-than-not highly visible.  Unless I sleep like 8-12 hours and my body is filled with good food and water (ha-ha.)

I’ve used the green tea eye teabag method a few times and I gotta say, it does work in emergencies.  If you are also plagued by this real eye issue, I recommend this trick.

Which brings me to today’s review- the innisfree Green Tea Seed Eyecream.

I bought it kinda secretly hoping that the main ingredient, Camellia Sinensis Extract (green tea) would actually work like the teabag method.  I also called myself dumb for thinking such miracles could exist in a tub and bought the product actually hoping it would be slightly better than my pricey Clinique All About Eyes (the only Clinique product for sensitive skin people I would ever recommend).

Well ladies and gentlemen (gentlemen are welcome too, btw), call me a monkey’s uncle.  Why?  I don’t know why someone would call someone a monkey’s uncle, actually.  Do you know why?

Anyway, I think this stuff works.  How to confirm this?  I don’t know.

BUT, I can tell you that the first time I used this cream was on a morning and then that same night I applied it liberally (as I do with eye creams for said wrinkle-fold issue) and went to sleep.  Except I didn’t- sleep that is.  I was up til 6am (my sleeping pattern is a problem these days) and woke up at 8:30am because of the construction downstairs.  Fuck you, Taipei.

As can be expected, I felt like utter shit(e).  I sat at my computer staring painfully into the screen cause I had nothing else to do.  I moaned at the thought that I had to work in the afternoon until 9:30pm that night and probably wouldn’t actually nap before then.

And then I looked in the mirror.  And dear god I almost cried.  In fact I did cry (no seriously, I did).

Why?  Was I looking that frightening?  Because that’s what one would expect, believe me.

But no ladies (and gents), I cried because I looked FINE.  Pale and not happy, but my eyes, the most clear indications of how shit I feel were clear and NO WRINKLE-FOLD IN SIGHT.

OH MY GOD.  NO WAY.

Its true people.  And in my dazed and confused state, I attributed it to the cream.  I can’t explain the ecstasy I felt at that moment (with the dead tired still underneath).

Now, later when still I had to go to work while everyone else is watching TV with their loved ones on a full stomach ready to go to sleep, of course my wrinkle-fold reappeared- but who the hell cares.  After two hours sleep, my eyes were still looking better than usual.

Is it really because of the cream?  Or was it just a freak thing that the two hours of sleep helped my eyes?  I don’t know, but I will be carefully monitoring how my eyes change (or don’t) with the innisfree cream.

In other, non-crazy story fashion, this cream is still the bomb(dignity) in other ways.  Let’s get on with the actual review.

Product:  innisfree Green Tea Seed eye cream

Use:

This antioxidant moisture eye cream is formulated with freshly squeezed Jeju green tea and green tea seeds to deliver moisture and nourishment to your eye area,designed for eye area, to sooth eye lines and fine lines with enriched nourishment.

With Dual Moisture-Rising TechnologyTM, Innisfree The Green Tea Seed Eye Cream (2014 Upgrade Version) maintains the water along on the skin and moists the dry skin around the eye area. It is suitable for all skin types.  The Green Tea Seed Eye Cream moisturizes and increase the circulation around eye areas. It also brightens eye areas. (according to Sasa and packaging)

Ingredients:

Actually, the ingredient list is incredibly long and I can’t find it published online, so I hope you enjoy this hand-typed-by-moi:

Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Propanediol, Caprylic/ Capric Triglyceride, Hydrogenated Poly (C6-14 Olefin), Camellia Sinensis Seed Oil, Glycerin, cetyl ethylhexanoate, phytosteryl/behenyl/octyldodecyl lauroyl glutamate, c14-22 alcohols, cyclopentasiloxane, arachidyl alcohol, stearic acid, glyceryl stearate, butyrospermum parkii (shea) butter, cirtus paradisi (grapefruit) extract, citrus aurantium dulcis (orange) fruit extract, citrus aurantium bergamia (bergamot) fruit extract, citrus tangerina fruit extract, epigallocatechin gallate, camellia japonica leaf extract, opuntia coccinellifera fruit extract, orchid extract, citrus unshiu peel extract, 1,2-hexanediol, c12-20 alkyl glucoside, lauric acid, myristic acid, behenyl alcohol, butylene glycol, cyclohexasiloxane, cetearyl alcohol, silica, arachidyl glucoside, ammonium acryloydimethyltaurate/vp copolymer, ethylhexylglycerin, ethoxydiglycol, water, kaolin, tocophersolan, palmitic acid, poloxamer 235, poloxamer 338, hydroxypropyl starchphosphate, disodium edta, fragrance

Oh my god, I’m cross eyed.

Ingredients of interest: 5/5

Camella Sinesis Leaf Extracts and Camellia Sinensis Seed Oil, i.e. green tea leaf extract and seed oil, is rated as BEST by Paula’s Choice. Now, I’m going to assume that extract and seed mean that it a more concentrated version over actually brewing the tea. Green tea has a mess of antioxidents, caffeine to help plump skin, and anti-inflammatory properties, etc. I drink green tea almost daily and you know, its really good for you. You’ve heard that before, but here’s some real research:

“Most researchers agree that tea (black, green, or white) has potent anti-inflammatory properties and that it is a potent antioxidant whether consumed orally or applied topically. Current research also indicates that epigallocatechin-3-gallate (EGCG), an extract of tea, can prevent collagen breakdown and reduce UV damage to skin, which is a very good reason to use skin-care products that contain one or more forms of tea,” Paula’s Choice

However, what Paula’s Choice doesn’t mention is that fact that green tea oxidizes, meaning the active ingredient might be useless once exposed to air. Which is a huge issue for measuring its effectiveness when applied topically.

Red flags: 2/5

Ingredients        Comeodogenic  Irritation
Stearic Acid               2                        0
Lauric Acid                4                        1
Myristic Acid             3                        0
Cetearyl Alcohol       2                        0
Palmitic Acid             2                        0

If this was a face cream, I would run far, far away.

Yea, but this is going on my eyes and is the last step in my skincare routine, so it doesnt usually touch the rest of my face.
My eyes are weird.  If I put face cream on them, even if all the ingredients are non-comeo and anti-irritation, they still get painful little bumps around the eyelids.  Put an eyecream packed with ingredients that would make the rest of my face look akin to a pumpkin and no bad reactions.  If you ever doubted the necessity of an eye cream, I am exhibit 1.

Appropriate for Sensitive Skin: 3/5

Yea, if your eyes are like mine.  No problems here.

Length of use:

One full week so far?  I am definitely going to use it through the bottle, if only because its damned good value for such a rich product.

Scent: 5/5

None that I could tell (which is quite interesting considering it is an innisfree product)

Texture: 4.5/5

Thick, non-oily, very smooth, and light.
I think one would call this texture “luxurious”.

Packaging: 2/5

Its a tub, so not the most hygenic packaging.  Also, if green tea does oxidize when exposed to air, thus cancelling the effect, it would mean this is a ridiculously poor choice of packaging.
My own opinion:  I think innisfree packaging is kind of ugly tbh.

Price:  5/5

Considering this is an eye cream and its a huge amount of product, the price is quite right.

W2 sells retail $25.50 (where I ordered it from)
Taiwan is $26, if I’m remembering correctly.

Value: 5/5

Putting aside its actual efficacy, heck yea, this is a great value.

Assuming that a similar department store brand eye cream could be, say the Clinique All About Eyes Rich at 0.5 ml is $31.00, and the innisfree Green Tea Seed eyecream at 30ml is about $25…

HARHAR.  HARRRRR.  Hahaa…Nevermind the math, obviously this is a Clinique dupe at its best.

For an eyecream, this is pretty much free.

Application: 4/5

Becuase the texture is so smooth and creamy, it goes on quite well.  I actually apply it twice because I like it so much.  Its non-oily, but you still have to wait a bit before applying eye makeup.  I had trouble once or twice, but as long as you’re patient and don’t use too much in the daytime, you’re all good.
Those who are really picky about eye creams and makeup definitely might want to consider a different day cream, though.

Initial thoughts: 5/5

“Oh wow, this thing is huge!”
*See above crying with joy story.*
“Texture is quite nice!”
*God I hope this has an effect*

Overall impression: 4/5

Unless this thing turns sour, I’m pretty happy with it and excited to see if the tea has any real effect.

Repurchase:

There’s so much of this thing, I’m not gonna have to worry about it for a while.  Besides, I’m super interested in whether my skin reaps any benefits from the green tea.  For the price, I’m definitely sticking this one out unless something really bright and shiny new comes along.

Where to buy:

innisfree shop in Taipei sells it at $26
W2 retails at $25 + 2.50 tracking  (You can use my referral code 033790609 to get $5 off you first order!)

Leave a Reply

