Product Review: Missha Time Revolution First Treatment Essence

Hey hey hey all, I’ve been a bit busy this week so its a few days since my last post, but be sure this is one of the more exciting items I’ve added to my stash.

Product:  Missha Time Revolution First Treatment Essence

image

Otherwise known as the phenomenally successful SK-II Facial Treatment Essence dupe (ie cheaper priced copy item)

Use:

“The very FIRST step to your skin care regimen.  Back to the Basics, a Stepping Stone to a Healthier and New Skin.  Contains 80% Fermented Yeast Concentrate, which absorbs into skin instantly to energize your skin. Also contains Niacinamide, a Vitamin B3 component, to improve skin elasticity, enhance skin barrier function, and revive skin tone and texture. DN-Aid, made from Cassia-Alata Extract, provides vitality to aging skin, protects DNA from aging caused by UV rays, and promotes restoration of damaged DNA.  THE FIRST TREATMENT ESSENCE improves fine lines and skin tone. The miracle water hydrates, restores, rejuvenates, and gives you a glowing complexion,” Missha US.

Ingredients:  5/5

SACCHAROMYCES FERMENT FILTRATE, PROPANEDIOL, GLYCYRRHIZA GLABRA (LICORICE) ROOT EXTRACT, NIACINAMIDE, POLYQUATERNIUM-51, BIFIDA FERMENT LYSATE, AMARANTHUS CAUDATUS SEED EXTRACT, RAFFINOSE, ULMUS DAVIDIANA ROOT EXTRACT, PENTYLENE GLYCOL, PIPER METHYSTICUM LEAF/ROOT/STEM EXTRACT, GLYCERIN, BETA VULGARIS (BEET) ROOT EXTRACT, HYDROLYZED CORN STARCH, CENTELLA ASIATICA EXTRACT, PORTULACA OLERACEA EXTRACT, PHENOXYETHANOL, CHAMOMILLA RECUTITA (MATRICARIA) FLOWER EXTRACT, ROSMARINUS OFFICINALIS (ROSEMARY) LEAF EXTRACT, PHELLODENDRON AMURENSE BARK EXTRACT, CASSIA ALATA LEAF EXTRACT, TROMETHAMINE, WATER, ADENOSINE, ETHYLHEXYLGLYCERIN, HYDROGENATED LECITHIN, ACETIC ACID, LACTIC ACID, SODIUM HYALURONATE

Ingredients of interest:

SACCHAROMYCES FERMENT FILTRATE and BIFIDA FERMENT LYSATE are forms of fermented soybean.  Fermented products apparently help encourage cell turnover for younger, smoother, brighter skin.
NIACINAMIDE is also known to brighten skin.

Red flags:

According to COSDNA, no red flags for comeodogenic or irritant factor.

Appropriate for Sensitive Skin: 5/5

Excellent ingredients and real-life tested

Length of use:

Maybe one month?

Scent: 5/5

There is a scent, but its very very subtle.  Almost like… I don’t know bad beer?  Its really hard to describe and not very noticeable anyway unless you’re literally snufffing your hand.
The important thing is that it smells NOTHING like the ridiculously noxious scent of SK-II.

Texture: 5/5

Light, watery texture.  Non-sticky.

Color?

Very light, pale yellowish?  No artificial coloring

Packaging: 4/5

Very pretty, heavy, serious-business, glass bottle with plastic screw on cap.
I know some people prefer travel-friendly, but I prefer pretty bottles for my table top and decanting into travel-safe containers.

Unfortunately, because this bottle is screw top, mixed with the fact that it is very watery, application is sometimes messy.  Also, I’m pretty sure it would do better in a pump so to protect it from exposure to air.

Price: 5/5

Size:  150ml
Retail (USD):  US, $50; Korea, $40; Taiwan, $30
How much I actually pay:  On sale considerably cheaper than those above prices, hahahahaaaaaa

Application:

Since it is an Asian toner (don’t mind the “essence” label, its toner), it should be applied right after washing your face.
I however have to work around the retinol (which in my book is the most important).  So I wash my face, apply the adapalene (Differin) and Avene Face Mist, wait for the mist to absorb/evaporate and then apply the Missha (before my skin dries from the mist).

The instructions say to use a cotton pad, but in order to not waste any product I pour some out into my palm and pat it into my skin and around my eyes.  I put a lot more than necessary on, but since I get it on the cheap, its not a problem to give my face a bath with this stuff haha
Daily, day and night usage.

Initial thoughts:

The first few mornings I noticed my skin was definitely improved in subtle ways.  More bright, even toned skinned and it definitely seemed like the texture had improved as well.  Kinda of like a dry version of the “after a mask” feeling.

Skin’s Reaction:

My skin really loves this.
I accidentally used a shit ton during one application-gone wrong and experienced absolutely no breakouts or sensitivity the next day.
I wanted to try out some new DIY facial mask sheets and poured a ridiculous amount of the treatment into the mask sheet, only to learn later that the sheet is very thick and wouldn’t tranfer the treatment to my skin, not matter how much I poured on it.  I ended up squeezing the mask out and whatever dripped out, I applied to my skin (I tried to be as hygenic as possible here), so as not to totally waste all of it.  And I mean a shitton would’ve been wasted.  If this thing was going to cause sensitivity or acne, that one time definitely would’ve been the indication.

Overall impression: 5/5

This thing definitely lives up to the hype and is an excellent purchase so I love it.  Its definitely a holy grail, not only for its short term, I-can-see-with-my-own-eyes effects, but also for hope that the fermented ingredients will actually help me in the future with everyday long term use.
If I don’t use this for a day or so, the difference in my skin’s texture is very noticeable- so I do know this thing works.

Conservatively, I’m quite certain it has gotten rid of quite a few fine lines on my forehead and around my smile area.  Not conservatively speaking, I think it has also gotten rid of two deeper lines on my forehead from raising my eyebrows too much- but this is probably due my retinol.

Repurchase:

Oh absolutely.  Though I had seen this brand before, I didn’t actually know anything about before reading Skin and Tonics and Wanderlust.  Now I can’t live without it.

I have one bottle opened at my boyfriend’s, one bottle opened at my house, and another two unopened stocked up under my desk.  (Sales in Taiwan, people)
One bottle will definitely only last me 3 months or less with how much I use.

Where to buy:

W2Beauty 150ml for $50.95 + $2.50 tracking and shipping for whole order (use referral code 033790609 and get $5 off your first order!)
RoseRoseShop 215ml for $61.20 + shipping
BeautyNet Korea 150ml for $42.99 + shipping

5 responses to “Product Review: Missha Time Revolution First Treatment Essence

  1. I think this is a dupe for SK-II’s much more expensive facial treatment essence. Since I’ve tried neither, I can’t really say if it is an effective dupe. They promise the same things, though…

    Like

Leave a Reply

